Skip to main content

Mission & History

Who We Are

Our National History - 

In 1977, a Seattle juvenile court judge was concerned that making drastic decisions with insufficient information conceived the idea of citizen volunteers speaking up for the best interests of abused and neglected children in the courtroom. That first CASA program has grown into a network of more than 951 CASA and guardian ad litem programs that are recruiting, training, and supporting volunteers in 49 states and the District of Columbia.

Our Local History - 

CASA of Northeast KY, Inc. was started in 2000 by the Honorable George Davis, III, and Foster Care Review Board Chair Christy Reaves.

The Boyd County legal community embraced the program by donating office space, equipment, and supplies to get the program operational. National CASA approved membership and awarded the first operational grant, and the staff was hired. Many community members have volunteered in an advisory capacity serving on the Board of Directors and various committees.

In July 2018, Carter County Family Court Judge David Flatt embraced the idea of CASA and in August, Northeast CASA began serving Carter County.   In addition to the Board, the Carter County program is served by an Advisory Committee.

In October 2020, recognizing the continued need for services across the Commonwealth, CASA of Northeast Kentucky expanded to include Elliott and Morgan counties.    

CASA of Northeast Kentucky - Mission Statement

CASA of Northeast Kentucky, Inc. is a volunteer organization dedicated to the principle that every child is entitled to have a permanent home and family and to be free from abuse and neglect. CASA of Northeast Kentucky recruits, screens, trains, supervises, and supports community volunteers who are appointed by the Judge in their jurisdiction as Court Appointed Special Advocates (“CASAs”) who serve as an independent voice throughout the juvenile court proceedings, until a safe and permanent home is found for each child. Our CASAs act as the representative of the abused, neglected and/or dependent child in Boyd, Carter, Elliott, and Morgan counties.